Freedom, the 4th (of July) and Identity

So here it is, July 4th, the US day of Independence and celebrating freedom. It’s been about 250 years since we won independence from the Brits and started on this democratic journey to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. With everything going on here in this great country of ours, and around the world, I have to stop and ask: so how’s this going for us?

Per my usual: this is long – but please – think through your own USA Identity as shown below – or whichever country you call home!

From a Human Nature perspective, as I’ve wandered around Harrisburg, the state capital of Pennsylvania, I started wondering about defining my identity as a US citizen. I say US, not just ‘American. ‘American’ includes all countries north and south of our border.

Celebrating Ukraine’s Independence Day in 2018 in Ivano Frankivsk. I served as Peace Corps volunteer in Poltava, a city much further east, and fortunately still ‘safe’ from Russia’s carnage.

Here, we celebrate with barbecues and fireworks, holiday sales (on line now I guess…). Wouldn’t this be fun:

In Ukraine, with Independence still being new-ish, hard fought, and treasured, a large blue/yellow ‘flag’ is unfurled and people gather to grab on and walk down the street. I’d say this one was easily the length of a long city block.

Imagine the joy and energy of celebrating Ukraine’s Independence when it wins this war – I know I’ll want to be there.

Identity as defined by Mother Nature is straightforward (and influenced by the environment): 3 components. Human Nature is complicated: We can change almost everything about our identity based on our needs and wants, and, environment.

DNA/Genotype (bluepring)

Appearance/Phenotype (guided by my DNA)

Qualities and Characteristics/Niche also guided by DNA which make (us) good at a particular role in the community.

So here goes: How I define myself as a US/American?

DNA/Genotype: Only in the USA do we ask: what are you aka where are you (roots/parents/grandparent) from. Like all US citizens (EXCEPT NATIVE AMERICANS), my DNA is from ‘abroad’ – 99% Eastern European Ashkenazi Jewish. Where exactly depends on the ‘border of the day’, but I’m probably 50% Ukrainian (now- originally my paternal grandfather was from the eastern Poland area known as the ‘the Pale’), 25% Polish, 25% Hungarian OR Czech OR Romanian (I believe my maternal Grandmother usually claimed Hungary). I am a female and use the pronouns she, her.

The USA was founded on opening its doors to foreigners wanting a new and better life. A freer life without pogroms (Anti- Semitic massacres of Jews in Eastern Europe at the turn of the 19th century as shown in ‘Fiddler on the Roof’), religious persecution/hate crimes, class poverty, etc. My mother, who died in Pittsburgh before the Tree of Life slaughter, used to say the USA was the only place in the world it was safe to be a Jew. Even when the immigration gates were open from 1880-1920, there was backlash to the immigrants who fled Eastern Europe, Italy, Ireland, Eurasia and everywhere in between. Even though these same immigrants catapulted the USA into superpower status, contributing their zest for ‘the American Dream’, ingenuity, skills and qualities (niche). The USA as a melting pot, to me, is what has made America great: I’m proud of my DNA as an Eastern European descendent and as a current US citizen for this mix of cultures and backgrounds and openness (kinda???)!

I wonder: How do newer immigrants define their USA identity. Equally: WHY do people want to immigrate and become USA citizens?

Appearance/Phenotype: What do you see when you look in the mirror? First, I’m white. This has gifted me privileges in this country. Thanks to my Eastern European DNA I have slightly curly, humidity-frizzy, dark hair. (Though graying.) Sure I’m heavier than my mother told me DNA prescribed, but as US citizens we do tend to be larger – thanks to relatively good health, a healthy diet, and, dental care (did I mention I was OLD(er)?), I am a part of that energetic older set of USA-ers. Most of all, my teeth define me as a July 4th celebrator: relatively white, straight, and regularly flashed. I smile – a lot. As a nation we’re big smilers. Another reason I’m appreciative of my USA identity: relatively decent access to decent food and services and an emphasis on taking care of myself. And smiling – it’s my best quality!

Qualities/Niche: What are your most natural and treasured skills and characteristics? For me: Pessimism is creeping in, but as a USA-er and thanks to my DNA, I am an optimist with a can-do attitude. My DNA, through experiences and failures, has uncovered qualities of creativity and humor. Thanks to my USA freedom (and usually/sometimes) not believing I had to follow rules, I have explored and dabbled, all leading to my creating of Learning From Mother Nature and believing I can ‘sell it’. Thanks also to a strong USA economy – including now with Bidenomics – I’ve been able to save, invest, and survive financially (though it’s been living on less than I’ve made). I’m appreciative of my USA identity allowing me freedom to explore (also dependent on WHEN I lived/worked).

As a USA-er, and thanks to my personal qualities I’ve been able to travel and flash my USA passport to easily get into almost every country around the globe. I was able to enter – and exit – Eastern Europe (unknowingly the root of my DNA) when Russia clenched it’s reign on the Iron Curtain. (And one ridiculous reason why Putin is immorally destroying Ukraine – to ‘bring the band back together’. Is authoritarianism part of the Russian leader identity?) Few citizens around the globe can come and go – a freedom and right I’m appreciative of.

BUT – there are many things on this July 4th I’m hoping the founding fathers would be embarrassed and upset by:

  • Increasing xenophobia and resentment of those who are different – both here and around the world.
  • No real emphasis on education and creating an educated society.
  • Not taking environmental responsibility for the American Dream we’ve exported and has turned into a global nightmare of plastic pollution and excess.
  • Indifference to caring for others both down the street and around the globe.
  • Indifference to our history and the history of the world. For example, not realizing the threat Russia’s immoral war in Ukraine holds both for Ukraine and the world.
  • Ignorance and indifference that too much is just too much and it’s destroying us.
  • The low reading, math, history, science scores of US students and citizens compared to the rest of the ‘developed’ world.
  • That the 2nd amendment, the right to own fire arms has turned frightened, disenfranchised citizens into mass murders – legally able to own guns.
  • That this same 2nd amendment has shown how afraid we are of the ‘enemy’ – and the enemy is ourselves and each other.

We can do better, I hope, if we rethink and reclaim the principles of the founding fathers. Please think about this and add to the list:

*Improving education and focusing on a knowledgable population – not on fear and social media influencers but on facts.

**Openness to others – not letting our fear of differences/xenophobia grow inside.

**Our can-do USA attitude of leading the world in health and safety – starting here by providing universal health and dental care to all.

Enough about me – what about YOU. Just because you’ll read this after July 4th, after the BBQ, and fireworks, start the conversation with others. And please share here with all of us.

Sure there’s so much more – but I’ll let you think what it means for YOUR USA identity. What you are grateful for, and what you would like to change. What can we do differently?

Published by

LB Katz

Human Nature Concepts explores places, ideas, and identity by bridging human nature through Mother Nature's laws and rules. My goal is to rock the boundaries of science education, adding emotional intelligence/social skills (communication and self-awareness) WITH science! Time to show science as the fabulous subject it's always been.

Please tell me what you think!